Shared Kinks

There seems to be something Hugh Laurie and Benjamin Britten have in common.

A shared secret kink! Nothing out of the ordinary, but… well.

They seem to share the fondness for post-mortem hugs.

Proof is attached, an old song by Hugh Laurie, featured in the immortal series “A bit of Fry and Laurie.”

I listened to it by chance this morning and immediately I got the picture of  Vere singing this instead of the epilogue… (Maybe replacing “Port Authority” with “Admiralty” and a few other minor  changes would be necessary.)

So now, get into the feeling of…

Mystery

(Hugh Laurie)

All my life has been a mystery
You and I were never ever meant to be
That’s why I call my love for you
a mystery

Different country
You and I have always lived
In a different country
And I know that airline tickets don’t grow
On a tree
So what kept us apart is plain for me to see
That much at least
Is not really a mystery

Estuary
I live in a houseboat on an estuary
Which is handy for my work
With the Thames Water Authority
But I know you would have found it
Insanitary
Insanitary

Taken a violent dislike to me
I’d be foolish to ignore the possibility
That if we’d ever actually met, you might have hated me
Still, that’s not the only problem that I can see

Dead since 1993
You’ve been dead now
Wait a minute let me see
15 years
Come next January
As a human being you are history

So why do I still long for you
Why is my love so strong for you
Why did I write this song for you
Well I guess it’s just
A mystery

Leave a Reply

