Though All My Wares Be Trash — Happy Birthday!

What to gift a man with who has everything?

Still, happy birthday, Philippe Jaroussky!

John Dowland
Fine Knacks For Ladies

Fine knacks for ladies, cheap choice, brave and new
Good penniworthes, but money cannot woo,
I keep a fair, but for the fair to view,
A beggar may be liberal of love.
Tho’ all my wares be trash, the heart is true,
the heart is true, the heart is true.

Great gifts are guiles and look for gifts again,
My trifles come, as treasures from my mind,
It is a precious jewel to be plain,
Sometimes in shell, the orient pearls we find.
All others take a sheaf, of me a grain,
of me a grain, of me a grain.

Within the pack, pins, points, laces, and gloves
And diverse toys, fitting a country fair
But in my heart, where duty serves and loves,
Turtles and twins, courts brood, a heavenly pair.
Happy the heart that thinks, of no removes,
of no removes, of no removes.

***Lyrics from the Victoria and Albert Museum

Leave a Reply

